“You are the architect of your own future.”

Published January 23, 2012 by matchsoul


I read that this weekend and it got me thinking.

Right now, this very second that you are reading this post, you literally have hundreds of choices to do anything you want right now.

You have the choice to choose your career, the country you live in, the friends you hang out with, how you go through life (half empty or half full), even the food you eat tonight and the music you listen to.

I know that is not entirely true because there are people who do not have these choices, but in my opinion as long as you have your health and your freedom, then you have all these choices available to you, even if it requires some time and work to get the means to be able to make the choice (saving money).

Every choice you make right now has an impact on your future and the future of many others. Whether you want to accept this or not, it is true.

An example of how this works is back in 2006 when I was on holiday in Europe, I bought a book to read while traveling. This book opened my eyes to possibilities I never knew existed. After my holiday, I started searching online for more content related to the book, and joined forums and started talking to like minded people.

Through my research, I met a guy called Alex. In turn, through Alex I met Glen .
Through Glen, I started with affiliate marketing and my own blog on personal development.
Because of Glen, he and I decided to go to Amsterdam together for 3 months in December of this year, and have adventures,meet people,make videos and really live the way we want to.

How different would my life and the lives of so many people be right now if I hadn’t bought that book?
I would not have met the same people,have the same friends, maybe even live in the same country.

The thing with choices is that you will never know if a choice leads to success or failure until after the time. Even if the choice has the best chance of future success (like going to college to get a degree), success is not guaranteed. There is no sense in worrying about the outcome of a choice.

Once you are able to accept this, then you are more free to make a choice and have the attitude of

“I made this choice, and I am going to do everything as best as I can, and things will turn out the way they do”

But…if you don’t know what you want, where your passions lie, then how can you make the right choices for yourself?

So… let’s start designing your future right now:

How to find your passions and true desires:

There are hundreds of posts on the internet about finding your passion, but for me, the easiest way to find out what I really want from life right now is to ask myself the following question.

“When I die, what do I want to have done with my life?”

We all only have a certain amount of time in our lives, and while we all like to reach an age of 80 years or older in good health, we may not be so lucky.

This is a bit of self-discovery that not many of us do. If you already know what you want in your life then there is no need to do this exercise.For the rest of us, the next time you have some time to yourself, take an hour away from Facebook,Email,cell phones and Tv and just sit somewhere quiet with a pen and piece of paper.

Write down what you really want from life.
Don’t just write generic things like “a car, house, wife,money”.
Put some effort into it!

Me…

* I want adventures. I want to see the world. Travel from country to country. I want to experience different cultures and meet people from all walks to life.

* I want to laugh and have fun with my friends and family.

* I want to help others reach their dreams.

* I want to find the girl of my dreams, marry her and never let her go,and have a family.

* I want to build my own house and have a holiday house on the coast somewhere.

* I want enough money to live comfortably and not have to worry about how to pay the monthly bills.

* I want to be fit and healthy for as long as possible.

*pause*

The intention of this post is not about me telling you about myself and my goals, but showing to you how you can make a list of what you are passionate about and what you want out of your life, so that you can make choices that build towards the future you want.

You have the choice to be your own architect and shape your own future to a large degree.

This way, when you are old, or most of your life is spent, you can look back on it and say:

“Wow,that was awesome”

instead of:

“Man, I wish I had done …(insert unfulfilled desire or passion)”

Make that list, get in touch with your passion and desires, and start living your life the way that you want to live it, with little or no regrets. Stop letting other people design your future for you.

Make your own choices…YOU are the Architect

102 comments on ““You are the architect of your own future.”

  • As soon as I detected this site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them. “Love the little trade which thou hast learned, and be content therewith.” by Marcus Aurelius Antoninus.

  • Nice read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he just bought me lunch as I found it for him smile Therefore let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch! “They may forget what you said, but they will never forget how you made them feel.” by Carl W. Buechner.

  • I haven’t checked in here for a while as I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are good quality so I guess I will add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

  • Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of hard work due to no data backup. Do you have any methods to prevent hackers?

  • Good blog! I truly love how it is simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a great day!

  • Simply desire to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your put up is just cool and that i could suppose you’re knowledgeable on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grasp your RSS feed to keep up to date with drawing close post. Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  • I’d love to take a look at your weblog a lot more usually but presently it seems to be taking ceaselessly to arrive up. I head over to from get the job done, and our connection theres pretty beneficial. Do you think the problem may perhaps incredibly effectively be within your finish?

  • Excellent article. And to be on-topic with this post, I don’t know for you girls but to me hair is the most important aspect for my look. My hair stilist on the saloon where I go gave me for about 2 months ago some type of hair oil that will make my hair grow faster and thicker. I don’t want to spam this blog so, who wants to find more details can click on my name.Also my apologies for my bad english 🙂

  • Appreciating the time and effort you put into your blog and detailed information you offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  • I believe this is one of the so much vital info for me. And i’m happy reading your article. However should remark on few normal things, The website style is ideal, the articles is in reality excellent :D. Excellent task, cheers.

  • Thanks for giving your ideas on this blog. Furthermore, a misconception regarding the banking companies intentions while talking about property foreclosure is that the lender will not take my installments. There is a specific amount of time that the bank will require payments occasionally. If you are very deep inside the hole, they will commonly desire that you pay that payment in full. However, i am not saying that they will have any sort of payments at all. If you and the traditional bank can be capable to work some thing out, the foreclosure method may end. However, should you continue to miss out on payments within the new strategy, the foreclosed process can pick up exactly where it was left off.

  • It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!

  • When almost everyone think of a candida, we consider it in connection with girls. Having said that, the Yeast infection fungus (thrush) might cause bacterial infections in everyone of both gender, because it’s contained in all of our figures. It will are available for an miserable shock to guys, but hang on, given it gets worse. Males, for those who have sex which has a woman who has infections, she will very easily give it to you.

  • Thank you for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I’m very glad to see such magnificent info being shared freely out there.

  • If you need a tiny extra money from your site, Myspace consideration or Fb  the Amazon Representatives system might be strangely for you.  Your cash in on making use of this system is dependent upon you and facilities of the promotional web-sites.  For those who have some really lively specialized niche internet sites you are looking to profit from plus a massive and committed Myspace right after you’ll be able to earn a living off of using this software on it’s own.

  • Useful post. And to be on-topic with this post, I don’t know for you girls but for me hair is the most important factor for my look. My hair stilist from the saloon where I go offered me for about two months ago some type of hair oil that will make my hair grow faster and thicker. I don’t like to spam this blog so, who wants to find more details can click on my user name.Also sorry for my poor english 🙂

  • Good write-up, I’m normal visitor of one’s website, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time. “Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” by Mark Twain.

  • Leave a Reply

